You Can’t Be Lucky All The Time, But You Can Be Smart Everyday.
My Joomla vs. Drupal Blog Plagiarized Already. An apology would be nice.
Well, I have already found an instance of my blog being plagiarized by a “Max Cyr” at Glorilla.com, who ever they are.
Apparently my Joomla 1.5 vs. Drupal 6.2 post was good enough to be stolen in its entirely and without edit or the hint of modification.
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery but stealing someones car so you can look like them riding down the road is…well…a felony.
- Blog Tags:
- Topics:
Drupal Blogs
Drupal.org - The main drupal community portal.
DrupalModules.com - Great site for finding and researching Drupal Modules


Comments
Copyright is a harsh thing online.
Copyright can be applicable online just as much as anywhere else in the industry. The hardest thing is to catch the felons. It seams to me that you already have completed the hardest thing. What I would do next is advise the person who committed the fault. Maybe you can come to an amicable resolution. Lets say you tell them to post an RSS feed on their blog instead, at least this way you are going to get a backlink and the credit as well as more website traffic. I don't think a lawyer would be necessary but if he or they persist that would be the only option left. Or you can also report them to Google, that usually does the job but its not easy to do.
Satellite Direct
Shady
August 19th, 2008 at 5:46 pm
I posted under beach_sales on Joomla. So no theft there.
I don’t know who those Glorilla guys are but definitely seems shady.
*This comment was posted by me when this blog was in Wordpress. I have transferred it over for all to see*
dpk Says:
July 17th, 2008 at 4:44 pm
On further examination, it’s possible that the pseudonymous Glorilla crew is stealing all their content since they have posted recent material on Joomla and Drupal that was clearly written prior to the stable releases of Joomla 1.5 and Drupal 6.
Is this a prank or search engine scam? An “expert” advice site by obviously fake characters claiming to be Russian…. odd.
*This comment was posted by me when this blog was in Wordpress. I have transferred it over for all to see*
dpk Says:
July 17th, 2008 at 1:31 pm
looks like Max took it down. but you’ve also been plagiarized here->http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=293156
…unless you posted that there as beach_sales
*This comment was posted by me when this blog was in Wordpress. I have transferred it over for all to see*
Jonathan Bailey Says:
I am very sorry to hear that this happened to you and can understand well your frustration. There is a contact link for the person involved on the site itself but I fear that it may not help much.
You might want to also consider filing a DMCA notice with their host. I have a stock letter you can use on my site and the email address is in this PDF on the Copyright Office site.
http://www.copyright.gov/onlinesp/agents/nttmerica.pdf
If you need any help, please feel free to send me an email.
You can use the account that I used here.
Let me kno??????can assist in any way!
*This comment was posted by me when this blog was in Wordpress. I have transferred it over for all to see*